You are currently viewing Jay White has to leave Japan

Jay White has to leave Japan

Twitter NJPW Global

With reports that his contract with New Japan had expired and rumors swirling about which US-based company would sign him when they did, Jay White had a “loser leaves Japan” clause in his match with Hikulyu in The new beginning in Osaka Today (February 11th).

In the storyline, Wyatt was looking to redeem himself after dropping the IWGP Heavyweight Title to Kazuchika Okada in the match Kingdom Wrestle Last month. Switchblade wanted to set an example for his former Bullet Club teammate Hikuleo. Actually, well… we still don’t know for sure, but…

Hikulio pinned White in Osaka, and this was certainly symbolic of a NJPW contest that included two IWGP World Heavyweight Championships and two IWGP Intercontinental Championships – Japan’s most prestigious new singles titles – among many other accolades for the 30-year-old from New Zealand.

Before chokeslamming White, Hikuleo kissed “Too Sweet” from his former Bullet Club partner.

And as he left the field, it was he and Hiroshi Tanahashi – the NJPW icon who played a huge role in establishing White as a headliner when he arrived in Japan in late 2010.

The others on the list say goodbye, too. On their way…

White is booked in at least one more new match in Japan, on the Battle in the Valley card this coming Saturday in San Jose, California. He is scheduled to face Eddie Kingston there, which some might interpret as a sign of him joining AEW. But Dragon Lee wrestled some AEW talent before he was signed to WWE, so don’t get too caught up in any one explanation.

Let us know what you think. Here are all the results from the fresh start in Osaka:

Aaron Hanari and Grete Ochan def. Oscar Leube and Toru Yano by pinning (Henare on Leube after Rampage)

Hiromu Takahashi, Bushi, Tetsuya Naito and Sanda def Ryusuke Taguchi, Shota Umino, Tiger Mask, and Tomoaki Honma by pinfall (Takahashi on Taguchi after Time Bomb II)

Taiji Ishimori def. Mr. Watto by fixation with Bloody Cross

Hiroshi Tanahashi def. KENTA via installation with High Fly Glow

Rin Narita, Minoru Suzuki and El Desperado def. Yujiro Takahashi vs SHO & EVIL via triple submission to become the new NEVER Openweight 6-Man Tag Team Champions

Hikuleo def. Jay White via pinfall after a chokeslam

Tama Tonga def. El Phantasmo by pinfalling Jay Driller to retain the NEVER Openweight Championship

Kazuchika Okada def. Shingo Takagi by pinning the Rainmaker to retain the IWGP World Heavyweight Championship

Leave a Reply